Will they stay or will they go?

There has been a lot of talk in the past few months about the Seattle Supersonics moving to Oklahoma and breaking the lease that they have with the Key Arena. The new owners are from Oklahoma and want to promote a pro bball team there…and leave us without one. This is sad for me because bball is the only professional sport I actually watch live and feel invested in. When I grew up in the Bay Area, my dad and I would go to the Golden State Warriors games (who were never actually GOOD but I maintain they will have their time in the sun) so when I moved here to Seattle, I took up the Sonics as my “home team”. It isn’t right to have major cities without a pro bball team and personally, I’m gonna be pissed if the new owners move them!

So now there is a big hoopla (and oh my god, to get to the second page of this article you have to enter in demographic information…lame!) over relocation, mainly because Aubrey (thanks Paul) was quoted in an Oklahoma paper saying the group purchased the Sonics with the purpose of relocating. Now Seattlites are up in arms! It’s kind of funny because you don’t see many die hard Sonics fans but they’re coming out of the woodwork now. Anyway, I hope they stay because I bought a Sonics t-shirt to wear to the games…

One response to “Will they stay or will they go?

  1. It was co-owner Aubrey McClend, not Bennet, who said that. They’re both douche bags, though.

Leave a Reply

