My Review: Skagit Valley Tulip Festival

This past weekend the buds and I went to the Tulip Festival in beautiful Mt. Vernon, WA. Kira arranged the whole caravan, which I had been wanting to do for a few years but just never got the gusto to do. So Kira, Paul, Pat, Nutting, Jess and I got some coffee, got into two cars and made our way up north where the open fields of tulips awaited our arrival. Needless to say, I was excited. We entered the first tulip farm that we passed because we were so excited and by doing that, we entered Tulip Town. Bad news is that it cost $5 to get in and all they took was cash (What the hell? There’s like a huge amount of people that go to this stuff, shouldn’t they be prepared for multiple forms of payment?) Thanks for the loan Pat.

So we got in there and it was super cheesy. Like there was a mini statue of liberty. Once you got out into the tulip rows though…sue-wee it was gorgeous. The whole area was so brightly colored and it was like a huge rainbow cascading across the landscape (I’m a poet I know). So we walked around the whole perimeter and took a ridiculous amount of pictures, even pictures of us taking pictures. Once we departed, we decided to try the brewery in Mt. Vernon for lunch and it was great! I was really hoping to get some homemade ice cream in the country town but we had to settle for TCBY in Lynnwood. Blah. We did get directed to the Dairy Queen twice by the “locals”.

I would say that it was a great trip for all of us to go enjoy together…the tulips themselves were amazing but the Tulip Town I could have done without. Everyone could have done without that. The festival goes until next weekend if you get a chance to go!

2 responses to “My Review: Skagit Valley Tulip Festival

  1. sweet pics 🙂

  2. Hey Nat, I haven’t stopped by in a while but Laura tells me we should go into business together 😉 Here are photos of another tulip festival from a blog I like: http://rosylittlethings.typepad.com/posie_gets_cozy/2008/04/tulips-for-jane.html

Leave a Reply

